L-R: Former Secretaries of State Kissinger and Baker, Secretary of State Kerry, DCF Chairman Harrop with Former Secretaries of State Clinton, Albright and Powell at the Groundbreaking Ceremonies, Sept. 2014.

Board of Directors

Honorary Directors

James A. Baker, III

Honorary Co-Chair

Secretary of State 1989-1992

Hillary Rodham Clinton

Honorary Co-Chair

Secretary of State 2009-2013

Henry A. Kissinger

Secretary of State 1973-1977

George P. Shultz

Secretary of State 1982-1989

Madeleine K. Albright

Secretary of State 1996-2001

Colin L. Powell

Secretary of State 2001-2005

Condoleezza Rice

Secretary of State 2005-2009

John Kerry

Secretary of State 2013-2017

Board of Directors

William C. Harrop*


Former Inspector General, Department of State; Ambassador to Guinea, Kenya, Seychelles, Zaire, and Israel.

Thomas R. Pickering*

Vice Chair

Chairman, American Academy of Diplomacy; former Under Secretary of State: Vice Chair Assistant Secretary of State; Ambassador to United Nations, Jordan, Nigeria, El Salvador, Israel, India, and Russia.

Nina N. Ansary

President, Ansary Foundation; Vice Chairman, Parman Capital Group; Director, Stewart & Stevenson LLC.

Elizabeth Frawley Bagley

Former Senior Advisor to the Secretary of State; former Ambassador to Portugal.

Stuart A. Bernstein

Chairman Emeritus, Bernstein Companies; Trustee Emeritus, John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts; former Ambassador to Denmark.

R. Nicholas Burns

Professor of the Practice of Diplomacy and International Relations, Harvard, Kennedy School; former Under Secretary of State; Ambassador to NATO.

Frances D. Cook

Chairman, Lonrho Plc; former Ambassador to Burundi, Cameroon, and Oman.

Sally Grooms Cowal

Senior Vice President, American Cancer Society; former Senior V.P., Population Services International; Ambassador to Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.

James T.L. Dandridge II

Governor/Trustee Diplomatic and Consular Officers Retired; Former Board Chairman, Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training; Director, Washington Institute of Foreign Affairs; Senior Foreign Service Officer (ret.)

Ruth A. Davis

Former Director General of the Foreign Service, Ambassador to Benin, Retired Career Ambassador (ret.)

Susan R. Johnson*

President, Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training, Former President, American Foreign Service Association; Senior Foreign Service Officer (ret.)

Brenda LeGrange Johnson

Partner of BrenMer Industries; former Ambassador to Jamaica.

Ellen Laipson

Director of the International Security Program, George Mason University; Former President and CEO, Henry L. Stimson Center; Vice Chair, National Intelligence Council; Member, State Department Policy Planning Staff.

Christopher Landau

Head of Appellate Litigation Practice of Kirkland and Ellis; Former clerk to Supreme Court Justices Antonin Scalia and Clarence Thomas.

Thomas E. McNamara*


Adjunct Professor, George Washington University; former Assistant Secretary of State; Special Assistant to the President; Ambassador to Colombia.

Michele A. Manatt

Chair, Council on Women’s Leadership, Meridian International Center.

Mary M. Ourisman

Trustee Emeritus, John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts; Former Ambassador to Barbados and the Eastern Caribbean.

Roman Popadiuk*

Vice President

Chair, World Affairs Councils of America; former Executive Director, George H.W. Bush Presidential Library Foundation; Ambassador to Ukraine.

John Welch

Chief Legal Officer and Executive Vice President, DMI; former Managing Director, Greysteel; Partner, Jones Day.


Thomas E. McNamara


Adjunct Professor, George Washington University; former Assistant Secretary of State; Special Assistant to the President; Ambassador to Colombia.

Susan R. Johnson


President, Association for Diplomatic Studies and Training; former President, American Foreign Service Association; Senior Foreign Service (ret.)

Walter (Jim) J. Woolwine


CPA, Foreign Service Officer (ret.)

Robert C. Heath

Executive Director

Trustee, American Councils for International Education; Executive Director, Public Diplomacy Council; Foreign Service Officer (ret.)


S. Daniel Abraham

Founder, S. Daniel Abraham Center for Middle East Peace; philanthropist in the fields of public health and education.

Frank C. Carlucci, III

Former Secretary of Defense; National Security Adviser; Deputy Director, CIA; Chairman, Carlyle Group; Ambassador to Portugal.

Anthony R. Chase

Associate Professor of Law, University of Houston Law Center; Chairman & CEO, ChaseSource, L.P.; Director, Anadarco.

William C. Eacho

Visiting Professor of Practice, Sanford School of Public Policy, Duke University; Co-Founder & Chairman, Partnership for Responsible Growth; former Ambassador to Austria.

Robert L. Gallucci

Former President, MacArthur Foundation; Dean, Georgetown School of Foreign Service; Assistant Secretary of State; Ambassador at Large.

Bruce S. Gelb

Former President, Council of American Ambassadors; Director, United States Information Agency; Ambassador to Belgium.

Leslie H. Gelb

Former President, Council on Foreign Relations; Assistant Secretary of State; New York Times columnist and national security correspondent.

Lee H. Hamilton

Director, Center on Congress, Indiana University; former Director, Woodrow Wilson Center for International Scholars; Member of Congress, Chairman, House Foreign Affairs Committee.

Stephen P. Randolph

Historian, Department of State; former Associate Dean, Industrial College of the Armed Forces, National Defense University; Colonel, U.S. Air Force (ret.).

Paul S. Sarbanes

Former United States Senator from Maryland.

Robin B. Wright

Joint Fellow, U.S. Institute of Peace, Woodrow Wilson International Center; Foreign Correspondent; Writer/Author on international affairs.


Stephen Low

Former President, Foreign Affairs Museum Council; Director, Foreign Service Institute; Director, Johns Hopkins University Bologna Center; Ambassador to Zambia, and Nigeria.

Charles McC. Mathias

Former Chairman, Foreign Affairs Museum Council; Former Senator from Maryland.

Directors Emeritus

Keith L. Brown

Herbert J. Hansell

Arthur A. Hartman

Richard H. Solomon

Terence A. Todman

February 18, 2000 Incorporated in District of Columbia

May 18, 2000 Advanced ruling of 501(c)(3) tax-exempt status

July 28, 2005 Classified as a 170 (b) (1) (A) (vi) Public Charity

May 21, 2013 Changed name to Diplomacy Center Foundation

*Executive Committee  Deceased